Board of Appeals

General. In order to hear and decide appeals of orders, decisions or determinations made by the Building Official relative to the application and interpretation of this code, there shall be a Board of Appeals consisting of five (5) members, none of whom are employees of the City of Palo. Three (3) members shall be a registered architect or licensed engineer or a registered or licensed building, mechanical, plumbing or electrical contractor in the State of Iowa; and two (2) members shall be private citizens, all of whom shall be residents of the City of Palo, Iowa. The Building Official or the Building Official's duly authorized representative shall be an ex officio member without vote and shall act as secretary of the Board. Each appointment or new appointment shall be for a term of three (3) years, with the terms of not more than two (2) members to expire December 31 of anyone year.

                                    The Building Board of Appeals shall be appointed by the City Council.  The Board shall adopt reasonable rules and regulations for conducting its business and shall render all decisions and findings in writing to the Building Official for appropriate distribution and filing. Nominal fee for appeal to the Board of Appeals shall be set by resolution of the City Council.

                                    112.2 and R112.2 Limitations on authority. An application for appeal shall be based on a claim that the true intent of this code or the rules legally adopted thereunder have been incorrectly interpreted, the provisions of this code do not fully apply, or an equally good or better form of construction is proposed. The authority of the Board in hearing appeals is limited to the technical provisions of the code related to the design, construction, use and maintenance of buildings and other structures including alternative methods and materials. The Board shall have no authority relative to interpretation of the administrative provisions of this code nor shall the Board be empowered to waive requirements of this code.



The Board of Appeal's five members are:

Scott Melsha

Shirley Harrison